News From the Library–Jan.24, 2011

When I was a child my father used to read Jack and the Beanstalk to me and I’ll never forget the chilling way he said those “Fee, fi, fo, fums….” It both scared me and delighted me all at the same time. This week I read Steven Kellogg’s version to the first graders and I’m happy to say I both scared and delighted them! The illustrations in this version are fantastic. As I read I took a peek at the faces before me and eyes were wide and mouths were open. There’s nothing like a classic fairy tale to make you understand the power of a good story. And I think my dad would be proud of my “Fee, fi, fo, fums.”

 

Also in the Library this week…..

Kindergarten–When I planned to read Lois Ehlert’s Snowballs to the Kindergarten class it was cold and chilly in Santa Barbara (well, in the 50s…that’s cold for S.B.).  But this week we were having a little January “heat wave” and the temps were in the mid 70s.  We read Snowballs anyway and students had lots of fun figuring out all the items that were used in this delightful story of building a snowman, a snowwoman, a snowboy, a snowgirl, a snowbaby, a snowcat, and a snowdog.

First Grade–see opening post

Second Grade--A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon is one of my favorite read alouds.  The illustrations are, of course, stunning but, as in all of Mr. Shannon’s books, the story works on many levels.  As a narrative it is the engaging story of a girl who keeps changing and changing until she actually becomes her room!  But underneath the narrative is a great message for children about not being afraid to be different.

Third Grade–We talked about plot this week and I read them Adelita by Tomi de Paola.  This was a good way for them to find the plot as they are all familiar with the plot of  what we call the “regular” Cinderella.  The fun part was then finding the similarities and the differences between the two plots.

Fouth Grade–This week starts our unit on American Tall Tales and after seeing a presentation about the characteristics of a tall tale, we watched a video version of Anne Isaacs’ wonderful story Swamp Angel. Afterward we identified the parts in Swamp Angel that made it a tall tale and we are looking forward to reading the sequel, Dust Devil, next week.  The illustrations by Paul O. Zelinsky in both these books are exquisite.

Fifth Grade–In Mrs. Weill’s class we worked on evaluating websites together as a group using the links on the Skills Blog.  (Lots of chuckling over “Save the Northwest Tree Octopus“) It has become increasingly important to teach students these critical thinking skills when they use the internet as a source of information.

Mrs. Wooten’s fifth grade missed library due to the holiday but they did this project previously.

Sixth Grade–no class because of holiday on Monday.

 

One comment on “News From the Library–Jan.24, 2011

  1. Amy says:

    Funny – we just read Snowballs this week – looking at visual texture. And I’m reading Swamp Angel to them as well. I had never heard of it and only heard of it because of the PR behind Dust Devil coming out.

Leave a Reply

